Blog categories


Specification awards shortlist announced

shortlist for the biennial GAI RIBA Architectural Ironmongery Specification
awards has now been announced.

record number of projects were submitted by architects, specifiers,
architectural ironmongers and manufacturers from across the world.

by the Guild
of Architectural Ironmongers (GAI)
in conjunction with the Royal Institute of British Architects
(RIBA), the awards are
designed to identify and reward excellence in the specification of
architectural ironmongery.

2018/19 awards will see changes from previous years, including an additional
project being shortlisted in each category and a brand new award for the best new
product. The ‘Best new product: design and innovation’ category has been
created to celebrate new door and window hardware and access control products,
allowing advancing technologies to be fully showcased and recognised.

Stacey, president of the GAI, says:

Specification Awards ceremony is one of the Guild’s most highly anticipated
events. The calibre of entries is always incredibly high and shows architectural
ironmongery at its best. The GAI is always proud to see its member companies
involved in so many complex projects.

awards are unique because they reward the whole specification team,
highlighting the importance of the professional partnership between architects
and architectural ironmongers.”

each category there will be a winner, second and third place as well as a
highly-commended award. The judges will also decide on an overall ‘winner of
winners’. At the 2017/18 Specification Awards, this accolade went to Kings
Gate, a residential project by architectural ironmongers izé and architect Lynch
Architects. A brochure
featuring the 2017/18 winning projects can be downloaded from the GAI website.

winners will be announced at a celebratory lunch at OXO2 in the OXO Tower on 21
March 2019.